The thirty seven requisites of enlightenment or bodhipakkhiya dhamma in the Pali language and bodhipaksa dharma in the Sanskrit language. being one of the connotations of bodhipakkhiya-dhamma, as given in Chapter I. the thirty-seven Bodhipakkhiya-dhammas, the requisites of enlightenment. bodhipakkhiya-dhammā. The 37 ‘things pertaining to enlightenment’, or ‘ requisites of enlightenment’ comprise the entire doctrines of the Buddha. They are.

Author: Tejin Tuzragore
Country: Angola
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Medical
Published (Last): 5 April 2011
Pages: 434
PDF File Size: 4.19 Mb
ePub File Size: 17.94 Mb
ISBN: 699-8-53174-981-2
Downloads: 72993
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Kigagore

Right effort provides necessary energy to develop the other seven factors, particularly the factor of right concentration that is necessary to develop right wisdom. Although 37 requisites of enlightenment have been described in Buddhist teachings, in actuality there are only fourteen different requisites since five requisites seem to appear repeatedly in the seven groups of requisites while the remaining nine qualities appear only once.

Striving by restraint Striving by bohipakkhiya Striving by development Striving by protection. This article uncritically uses texts from within a religion or faith system without referring to secondary sources that critically analyze them.

The Buddha’s elaboration of the last item included the seven sets of thirty-seven bodhipakkhiya dhammas which are enumerated individually in this discourse. In the faculty of concentration, by choosing an appropriate meditation object and focusing attention on that, one develops deep states of concentration called dhyana.

Close consideration of the series would show that the seven sets are ranked in a numerically ascending order, from four to eight, which means that their bodhipaikhiya is purely pedagogic and implies nothing about a later set being more advanced than the earlier sets This page was last edited on 30 Novemberat Equanimity is also a factor associated with Jhana or deep meditative stages in concentration meditation. When one attains the first noble stage of Stream Entry, Sotapanna dhamam, one will possess unshakable faith in the Triple Gem: The fourth factor of rapture or joy is the non-sensual niramisa happiness and satisfaction felt in the mind as well as the lightness and the waves of bliss felt in the body.


Regarding the ordering of the seven sets, Bodhipp. It has three aspects—the intention of renunciation, intention of good will and intention of harmlessness—that are in opposition to the wrong intentions of greed, ill will and bodhipzkkhiya.

From the Mahāparinibbāna sutta (DN 16):

As powers, faith controls doubt, energy controls laziness, mindfulness controls heedlessness, concentration controls distraction and wisdom controls ignorance. The faculty of conviction The faculty of persistence The faculty of mindfulness The faculty of concentration The faculty of discernment.

The noble eightfold path is of two kinds: The fifth factor passaddhi of calm, serenity, quietness or tranquillity naturally follows joy or rapture and leads on to concentration. In the Satipatthana suttabefore describing the four foundations of mindfulness and their practical aspects and referring to the benefits of dgamma them, Buddha stated that: From a practical standpoint, the eight factors above can be divided into three groups of practice:.

Bodhipakkhiya Dhamma Foundation

Right livelihood is the avoidance of five particular trades: It is developed by contemplating on the body, feelings, the mind and the mind objects. The thirty seven requisites of enlightenment or bodhipakkhyia dhamma in the Pali language and bodhipaksa dharma in the Sanskrit language are the requisites or qualities dhamma related pakkhiya to awakening or enlightenment bodhi in Buddhism. When the five spiritual faculties are developed and cultivated well they become firm, strong and powerful enough to oppose and control the factors that can oppose the five spiritual faculties.

Those who have undertaken the four bases for spiritual power have undertaken the noble path leading to the destruction of suffering. They are the four foundations of mindfulness, the four right efforts, the four constituents of psychic power, the five faculties, the five powers, the seven factors of enlightenment, and the Noble Eightfold Path.

By good friendship SN Five qualities mentioned 28 times across seven sets of qualities conducive to Enlightenment based on Vism.

  BOGAR 12000 PDF

The second factor of investigation refers to the quality of mind that critically discriminates and investigates into the nature of mind and matter or mental and physical phenomena. In the Samyutta Nikayathe fifth division’s first seven chapters are each devoted to one of the bodhipakkhiya dhammas.

Note that, whereas the Visuddhimagga orders the five redundant qualities listed in the table in order of ascending frequency among the seven sets that is, from faith which appears twice among the seven sets to energy which appears nine timesthe table below orders them in a manner consistent with the Five Faculties and Five Powers from faith to understanding to facilitate reader comprehension as there is potentially a developmental facet to this classical ordering.

Supramundane right view is the correct understanding of the Four Noble Truths of suffering dukkhathe cause of suffering samudayacessation of suffering nirodha and the path leading to the cessation of suffering magga.

Distaste bodhipakkhlya all the world SN Right speech has four aspects: The mental qualities that are quietened in kaya passaddhhi are the aggregates of feeling vedana ; perception sanna ; and the mental formations sankhara. Four types of right effort: The requisite of concentration appears four times as concentration in dhammw five spiritual faculties and powers; as concentration in the seven factors of enlightenment; and as the right concentration in the Noble Eightfold Path.

It has four aspects: Please help improve this article by adding references to reliable secondary sourceswith multiple points of view. Right mindfulness is to be developed through the four foundations of mindfulness: Iddhi means certain spiritual or mental powers and pada means bases.