The Political Illusion by Jacques Ellul, translated from the French by. Konrad Kellen. New York, Alfred A. Knopf, rxxi, , x pp. $ Walter Kaufman once. In the tradition of Eric Hoffer and Colin Wilson, the author presents a French variant of the honest skeptic who tends to dismiss everyman’s cant in favor of his . Jacques Ellul, historian, theologian, and sociologist, is one of the foremost and widely known contemporary critics of modern technological society. Born in.

Author: Yonos Dailrajas
Country: Cape Verde
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Love
Published (Last): 11 April 2014
Pages: 500
PDF File Size: 3.69 Mb
ePub File Size: 1.39 Mb
ISBN: 137-9-45781-640-7
Downloads: 70996
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Zuran

In the tradition of Eric Hoffer and Colin Wilson, the author presents a French variant of the honest skeptic who tends to dismiss everyman’s cant in favor of his own. This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Jonathan Inkman rated it it was amazing Sep 09, Thanks for telling us about the problem.

La petite vermillon Media reporter, reviewer, producer, guest booker, blogger. After multiple infractions, commenters may be banned. Wizzard is currently reading it Apr 13, Tom marked poolitical as to-read Oct 08, Lists with This Book.

Robert rated it really liked it Aug 29, During his Marxist days, he was a member of the French Communist Party. Leland LeCuyer marked it as to-read Jul 08, Please provide an email address.

  JOHN STEINBECK LAS UVAS DE LA IRA PDF

The political illusion – Jacques Ellul – Google Books

Bronwyn marked it as to-read Dec 31, Jay Jaxques is currently reading it Apr 22, Comments that call names, insult other people or groups, use profanity or obscenity, repeat the same points over and over, or make personal remarks about other commenters will be deleted.

The political illusion Vintage books ; V Vintage Books- Political Science – pages. Ellul has taught and written extensively in his areas of specialization – Roman law, the history and sociology of institutions, Marxism, propaganda, and technique in society. Hardcoverpages. His subsequent books, especially The Political Illusion and Propagandafurther develop and refine elements of this central theme.

My library Help Advanced Book Search.

Trivia About The Political Ill Ellul has provided a sociopolitical as well as a theological analysis of contemporary society in more than 40 books and articles. Smith rated it it was amazing Mar 14, Ellul was also a respected and serious Christian theologian whose work, “The Presence of the Kingdom,” makes explicit a dual theme inherent, though subtly stated, in all of his writing, a sort of yin and yang of modern technological society: To ask other readers questions about The Political Illusionplease politicaal up.

Politicians have been promising to fix the deficit for years.

  COVENTRY CAROL SATB PDF

Warren Cole Smith Category: In addition, Ellul has been active in the environmental movement and has worked to prevent juvenile delinquency and violence. He also served in the French Resistance during World War II, worked as a lay pastor, and has been active with various theological organizations, including the World Council of Churches.

Questions?

Few of his books are overtly political — even though they deal directly with political phenomena — and several of his books, including “Propaganda: Because of a dialectical approach separating his sociopolitical and theological studies, Ellul has often been criticized as overly pessimistic in his sociologically based writings.

The author’s aversion to “”democratic planning”” almost makes his book liable for service as a chapbook for the Goldwaterites of the world who are always against “”hegemony,”” and always for “”equitable settlements,”” but are indifferent to the instrumentalities by which man governs himself.

Luke Bartolomeo added it Oct 10, To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.