The Political Illusion by Jacques Ellul, translated from the French by. Konrad Kellen. New York, Alfred A. Knopf, rxxi, , x pp. $ Walter Kaufman once. In the tradition of Eric Hoffer and Colin Wilson, the author presents a French variant of the honest skeptic who tends to dismiss everyman’s cant in favor of his . Jacques Ellul, historian, theologian, and sociologist, is one of the foremost and widely known contemporary critics of modern technological society. Born in.

Author: Yozshukazahn Vuzahn
Country: Cape Verde
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Politics
Published (Last): 28 June 2018
Pages: 130
PDF File Size: 5.49 Mb
ePub File Size: 10.65 Mb
ISBN: 542-8-38352-382-6
Downloads: 67123
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Shale

Like Rousseau, the author’s state of nature is an anthropological fiction, and his yearning for a ollusion civilization is the existential condition that more often than not is the harbinger of an even more totalistic society than before.

The Political Illusion by Jacques Ellul

Smith rated it it was amazing Mar 14, Leonardo marked it as to-read Nov 24, They wanted richer, fuller lives. The message is obvious: Although the book is jacqies in the French political and economic tradition and the cases cited are often relevant to contemporary French issues and personalities, its purview is meant to have universal application.

In addition, Ellul has been active in the environmental jacquws and has worked to prevent juvenile delinquency and violence. Bronwyn marked it as to-read Dec 31, His tenor and methodology is objective and scholarly, and the perspective is a sociological one.

Ajcques his other works are Autopsy of Revolutionwhich questions what kind of revolution is realistically possible, The Humiliation of the Wordwhich expands upon the concept of “human techniques”, and The Technological Bluffwhich discusses the state of contemporary society, especially in regard to such technologies as computers and genetic engineering and the progressive “discourse” that surrounds their societal incorporation.

  LEUCEMIA PROMIELOCITICA AGUDA M3 PDF

Just a moment while we sign you in to your Goodreads account. They wanted the government to help make their lives rich and full. Matt rated it liked it May 19, Open Preview See a Problem?

The Political Illusion

After multiple infractions, commenters may be banned. Frdaniel rated it it was amazing Mar 27, Who marked it as to-read May 18, Kazoobooks added it Oct 13, In the midst of this extraordinary presidential race, we thought it was time to hear Chuck on this topic again. In he was appointed professor of social history at the University of Bordeaux, remaining there until his retirement in John Baw rated it it was amazing Mar 09, From inside the book. This book is not yet featured on Listopia.

The job of the state is to promote justice and restrain evil.

Questions?

In the 40 books and hundreds of articles Ellul wrote in his lifetime, his dominant theme was always the threat to human freedom posed by modern technology. These readings and experiences have influenced his later philosophy and writing.

There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Today on BreakPoint, a classic commentary by Chuck Colson on government and politics. Wizzard is currently reading it Apr 13, Karl Ouch rated it liked it Oct 27, Comments that call names, insult other people or groups, use profanity or obscenity, repeat the same points over and over, or make personal remarks about other commenters will be deleted.

  LINIERTES BLATT PDF

Account Options Sign in. Hardcoverpages. The hope that it can do more than that—that it can make people happy or fulfilled—is doomed to failure and disappointment.

Read, highlight, and take notes, across web, tablet, and phone. The enemy is la politique, a politics that consumes too great a share of man’s time and fate.

The Technological Society established Ellul as a social critic. One of his illusioh projects is an autobiography to be published after his death.

John rated it really liked it Mar 12, Spectraz marked it as to-read Mar 14, Robert rated it really liked it Aug 29, The author’s aversion to “”democratic planning”” almost makes his book liable for service as a chapbook for the Goldwaterites of the world who are always against “”hegemony,”” and always for “”equitable settlements,”” but are indifferent to the instrumentalities by which man governs himself. Thanks for telling us about the problem. Jjacques also served in the French Resistance during World War II, worked as a lay pastor, and has been active with various theological organizations, including jacqies World Council of Churches.

Zach Boyle marked it as to-read Jan 28,